Criminal Justice News

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

U.S. Marshals Capture Ohio Murder Suspect in Texas

Warren, OH – Early this afternoon, the U.S. Marshals Gulf Coast Violent Offenders and Fugitive Task Force (GCVOFTF) in Houston, TX, arrested murder suspect Tashawn “Boo” Walker. Walker, age 26, is wanted by the Warren Police Department for the murder of Richard Rollison that occurred this past Saturday. Walker apparently traveled from Texas to Warren to attend the funeral of his brother, Taemarr Walker, who died in a police involved shooting on Oct. 19. It is alleged that Walker shot and killed Rollison early Saturday morning and then fled the area, without attending the funeral of his brother, which occurred later that day.

On Saturday, the Warren Police Department requested the assistance of the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF) with locating and apprehending Walker. The NOVFTF worked on the investigation over the weekend. The NOVFTF conducted surveillance at the funeral and then developed solid leads in Texas. The NOVFTF passed along all information to the GCVOFTF in Houston earlier this morning.

The GCVOFTF immediately responded and began working the investigation in the area of Baytown, TX. The GCVOFTF located Walker at a residence located on Chandler Street in Baytown, TX. Walker was taken into custody without incident. During the arrest, two firearms and a box of ammunition were found and seized as potential evidence. Walker will be held in Texas and await extradition to Ohio to face the murder charge.

U.S. Marshal Pete Elliott said, “Our team worked quickly to capture this suspect and the results were outstanding. Great job by our task force members and the U.S. Marshals task force in Houston as they worked together to safely bring this fugitive to justice.”

Anyone with information concerning any wanted fugitive can contact the Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force at 1-866-4WANTED (1-866-492-6833). You may also anonymously text in a tip by texting the keyword "WANTED" and your tip to TIP411 (847411), or you can send a web tip at the following webpage Reward money is available and tipsters may remain anonymous.

The Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force – Youngstown Division is composed of the following federal, state and local agencies: U.S. Marshals Service, Boardman Township Police Department, Campbell Police Department, Columbiana County Sheriff’s Office, East Liverpool Police Department, Girard Police Department, Goshen Township Police Department, Hubbard Township Police Department, Leetonia Police Department, Lordstown Village Police Department, McDonald Village Police Department, New Waterford Police Department, Niles Police Department, Ohio Adult Parole Authority, Ohio State Highway Patrol, Salem Police Department, Springfield Township Police Department, Trumbull County Probation, Warren Police Department, Washingtonville Police Department and the Youngstown Police Department.

No comments: